Home   |   About AHDI   |   Shopping Cart   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join

RHDS Recredentialing


To support the new roles and responsibilities healthcare documentation specialists have been assuming over the past decade, the CCHD has updated the recertification policies.

Read about the new policy changes here.

The RHDS credential is valid for 3 years and expires on the last day of the month in which the credential was obtained. In order to recredential, RHDSs must take the RHDS Recredentialing Course and pass with a score of at least 75% on each section quiz and a final exam score of at least 75% before the expiration date of their credential.

  • RHDSs can take the RHDS Recredentialing Course any month after receiving their 6-month reminder but must complete the course before their deadline.

In the event the RHDS does not pass, they have the option to retest one additional time. Upon certification, credentials are valid for another 3 years.


An RHDS may opt to sit for the CHDS exam any time (at least 2 years' experience in acute care or multispecialty equivalent is highly recommended, however). If they pass, they relinquish their RHDS credential in favor of the CHDS credential, and begin a new 3-year recertification cycle for their CHDS. If they do not pass, they continue in their cycle as an RHDS and must meet the recredentialing requirements in order to maintain their RHDS status.




CMT and CHDS Recredentialing

The CMT and CHDS credentials are good for 3 years and expire on the last day of the month in which the credential was obtained. CMTs and CHDSs maintain this credential through participation in continuing education activities relevant to medical transcription and healthcare documentation. Recertification is required every 3 years. A minimum of 30 continuing education credits (CECs) must be accrued during that 3-year cycle, with at least 26 credits in the core areas of:

  • 8 Clinical Medicine (CM)
  • 4 Medicolegal (ML)
  • 6 Professional Development (PD)
  • 8 Technology and Tools (TT)

The remaining 4 required CECs may be obtained in either the Core areas mentioned above or the Optional area of Complementary Medicine (CoM).



CMTs Bridging to the CHDS

In 2013, AHDI rebranded our credentialing exams to both better align with our name and to reflect the expanded skill set competencies noted on the additional blue print domains. It is optional and voluntary for CMTs to bridge to the CHDS. AHDI will continue to service the CMT credential under its current recredentialing program requirements. For more information about these changes and to view frequently asked questions (FAQs), visit the Rebranding the AHDI Credentialing Exams web page.


CMTs wishing to bridge to the CHDS take an 8-week, self-paced online course. The course is preapproved for 10 CECs.





Helpful Links

Current forms (through December 31, 2019):

CEC Requirements Table

CEC Approval Request Form

CE Summary Form (PDF)

CE Summary Form (Word)


New Forms and resources (effective January 1, 2020):

CEC Requirements Table

CEC Approval Request Form

CE Summary Form (PDF)

CE Summary Form (Word)

List of Preapproved Activities

Member-Only CEC Policy

NonMember CEC Policy

Online CEC Quizzes

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal